Flickr snobbery

A funny thing happened yesterday. Not too long after I uploaded my image from yesterdays blog post, someone dropped me from Flickr. I don’t ever keep track of such things, but this person not only dropped me but also felt compelled to send me a message explaining why. Sounds nice to provide an explanation, but not really.

I share both SL and RL photos on my Flickr (add me!). I think I have mostly SL people as contacts but since I started sharing my RL pics, I started getting some non-SL people add me. No one has ever complained about my feed until yesterday. Basically, this person who dropped me told me that they weren’t interested in my pictures from a “video game”, that they added me as a contact because they thought I had some “real photos” to share and that’s why they were dropping me. Heh. Whatever.

I barely gave it much thought at all yesterday as you know, I have other things on my mind like my broken foot and my damaged heel ligaments on my other foot to take care of.

Last night I was doing my SL10B Greeter homework and exploring the SL10B sims, you know, so I will know where everything is when the sims open to the public. I have already viewed some photos of the much talked about A’stra Stage at SL10B, but when I went to visit it for myself, I was almost overcome with emotion. It’s just so breathtaking and beautiful and it reminded me of my dear friend and mentor Marjorie who passed away a couple of years ago. She had a special affinity for turtles and I couldn’t help but think of her as I was exploring the stage.

A'stra Stage at SL10B

A’stra Stage at SL10B

I don’t know of many other “video games” out there where you can create such amazing things that evoke such emotion. And I don’t think it’s just me who felt something when walking with their avatar across this turtles back. It was then that my thoughts turned to that snobbish person who dropped me from Flickr because I share pictures of amazing places to see and experience in Second Life. They have no fucking clue what they are missing.

6 thoughts on “Flickr snobbery

  1. Pingback: Flickr snobbery | MesH-UpS

  2. Full Moon Blog

    beautiful work u do and i say fu to the idiots who are soo narrow minded. It is art weather rl sl or any other bloodly world and most rl pics are ps any way soo what the hell they talking about u are very talented and love ur posts soo carry on my dear carry on:))

    Reply
  3. Yordie

    This is the kind of person you can move away from without regret, but I understand your surprise. People always find a way of revealing who they truly are. So, fiddleedee to that one. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

