Set me free

Set me free

Set me free

Since my surgery on May 31st, I have come to understand a new appreciation of Second Life. I am unable to walk like I used to. I can hobble around the house on crutches and a walker, but this is a far cry from the freedom and enjoyment I got from my brisk walks home from work and my evening strolls down by the lake to take photos. Yesterday I had an appointment at the with my doctor for a follow-up and some x-rays, and I nearly cried while stumbling around looking for the fracture clinic while my mother went to park the car. Life ain’t easy for someone with limited mobility even at the god damned hospital!

My incapacitation is only temporary though. Yesterday I had my bandages removed from my feet and the staples pulled out. I feel so much better but still unable to walk. I hobble around the house as best as I can. It will be several more weeks before I can start walking somewhat normal again, and probably several months before I will be briskly walking home from work again. But my doctor assures me that I will be back to normal, I just need to be patient and give it time.

I have been spending my mornings in Second Life, working on some images for my new gallery space and this makes at least part of my very long day go by faster. Today I was thinking about how grateful I am have this to keep myself busy. I have a lot of time on my hands right now which I could easily spend couch bound in front of the tv. I prefer spending at least some of that time in Second Life where I can work on creative and fun projects that keep my mind sharp while my physical body rests and heals.

2 thoughts on “Set me free

  1. Iolanthe Greymoon

    Your post really spoke to me. I’m disabled actually, and I was really drawn to SL by all the stuff I couldn’t do in RL like dancing, horseback riding, etc. Now my problem is, I’m on SL so much, I’m not getting enough exercise in RL. Heee!

    Reply
    1. Carrie Lexington Post author

      Thank you. :) I know I have it easy because my situation is temporary, but it definitely has opened my eyes to what it is like to have limited mobility. I never realized before how difficult that is. We take such things for granted and don’t realize it until we don’t have it.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

