A busy and exciting week

Last week was quite an exciting week for me in SL. I’ve got all kinds of exciting things going on:

* I graduated from my modeling course at Opium Elite Fashion Academy – my graduation fashion show will be coming up soon, I’ll post details when I have them
* I was offered to join the pool of models at Opium Elite Fashion Agency
* I was invited to be a contributor on the agency blog
* my “how to build community in SL” post was featured on New World Notes and as a result, I have had a ton of traffic on my blog and some new readers.
* a reader, Robward Antwerp, is making a sign/poster from said blog post and he’s going to be sending it to me in-world when he’s done. I’ll be sure to post it here as well.
* and, my favourite part of my week…I attended the Avatar Repertory Theatre’s production of Alice in WonderSland…more on that later.

Big week for me. It feels great to be getting recognition for my blog from other bloggers that I respect and admire. And I never expected to see my avatar’s face on New World Notes! That was such a surprise! It made my whole weekend. And an added bonus – I love getting random i.m’s in-world from people telling me how much they like my blog. It means a lot to me.

But don’t worry, I’m not gonna let my 15 minutes of fame go to my head, I promise. I’m much to shy and humble for that…although if you happen to fly by my parcel, you might think that I’ve let all the attention go to my head…

Believe me, this is not some big ole “look at me” shot of myself on my roof just because I think I’m some big SLebrity now LOL.  I was on top of my roof rezzing a photoprop (because the roof of my house also serves as my makeshift photostudio). And because I’m a queen multitasker (or so I thought), I was also putting together a notecard with some photos to send to a friend, making a snack for my kids, answering the phone, catching up on Plurks, trying to keep up with two im’s, a few group chats, fixing the tire on my sons’ monster truck, and putting barbie heads back on for my daughter…so, while I was dragging the photo from my inventory to the notecard I ended up accidentally dropping it on the roof of my house, twice, which subsequently ended with my roof being retextured with two big damn gratuitous snapshots of myself.  At least my visitors will never get lost.

(By the way, you can get that Olive peacock dress from Orage Creations for a mere $10L. A real bargain for this cute little number. And if you’re interested you can read more about it at the Opium Elite Agency Blog).

And since I retextured my house by accident, I have no idea how I actually did it, so undoing it is beyond my capabilities.  I think it might be a good time to look for a new house. I’m not sure if I can fit shopping for pre-fabs on my “sl to do list”. But, if you have any suggestions of where I can get a nice low prim pre-fab, I’m all ears.

What else did I want to tell you about…

Oh ya, on Saturday I attended my first ever performance by the Avatar Repertory Theatre’s production of Alice in WonderSland. It was awesome, I absolutely loved it. I’m amazed at the amount of talent and creativity we have in our SL community, and I really appreciate the amount of technical and creative effort that must have went into putting the production together. The costumes were amazing, the set design brilliant, the acting superb, and it was a real treat to see. And my favourite part about this performance is that my two children watched it with me. The play took place at our dinner time, and I really wanted to attend, so my solution to that dilemma was to order pizza and get my hubby to hook up my laptop to the big tv so we all could watch the play.

/me pats herself on the back for creative problem solving

My kids loved it and in the words of my 4 year old son… “that was really cool mommy, can we watch the real movie now?” LOL And what was really nice, was that after the play during the question and answer time, I discovered that there was another SL resident who had her kids watching with her too. One of the kids even went on voice and thanked the cast for the play. It was sooo cute!  I tried to get my kids to say something but they’re shy like me.

I loved that because it reaffirms for me that SL is not just about all that negative stuff you hear about in the mainstream media. There is so much more than that. It’s not that bad at all.

I don’t know if there are going to be anymore performances of Alice in WonderSland, but if there are, I highly recommend you attend. if not, I’m sure there will many more performances of other plays to come.

Busy week. Not just in SL but in RL too…and speaking of RL, I’m off to play monster trucks and dress up with my kids before bedtime.

Bye for now!

3 thoughts on “A busy and exciting week

  1. Chestnut Rau

    Duh. You modified it so of course it is mod. /me facepalms.In any case, the offer stands. I have tons of roofing textures and I can fix it for you if you like. Then again, prefab shopping is fun.

    Reply
  2. Carrie Lexington

    LOL thanks chestnut. i could probably figure it out myself, but my time in-world is so limited lately, and i would need a good chunk of undisturbed time to fix it properly. but i'll take you up on your offer. i'll send you and i.m next time i'm in-world. :))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

