BBBC Day 3: Relationships

How hard do you think it is to find a relationship in SL? If you have a SL relationship, have you met in the physical world? Would you meet them? Do you think it would change your SL relationship if you met?


When I first read todays BBBC topic, I cringed a little.  This topic is kind of a sore spot for me, and I’d rather not talk about it.  I talked about it enough here and here, if you’re interested.  But, I’m not gonna let it stop me from finishing this blogger challenge…and a challenge it has been for me tonight in writing this post.  


In my experience, finding a relationship in SL is not hard, in fact, I think it’s rather easy…the real question is, is it a lasting one and is it the kind of relationship that you are looking for and with the right person?  I think this the real challenge, and as challenging as it may be, I do know maybe two couples who found each other in SL and have made, or are making the transition from SL to RL.  I can only speculate on this topic, but I suspect they would have had to leave some space open for their relationship to change and adjust to the atomic world.


I’m married, so meeting a SL romantic partner is irrelevant to me.  But, if a relationship was something I was open to and looking for, then yes I would definitely consider meeting in RL.  I would be scared out of my wits to meet, but if it was something I really wanted, fear wouldn’t stop me from that possibility.  


For me, a relationship is not what I’m in SL for.  There was a time when I thought I wanted that, and then there was a time when I had completely sworn off romantic relationships.  And then there came a time when the hurt feelings heal, the fear starts to subside and I’m starting to see things through different eyes.  What it all means for me, I don’t know yet.   


I don’t understand all the complexities of finding and maintaining a relationship in SL, or what it’s like to bring a relationship outside of SL and into RL, but I do know this:  there is no right or wrong way for any one person, and if there is one thing I have learned from SL, is that anything and everything is possible.

Leave a Reply

