Comtemplating Art in SL


I had quite an enjoyable time in SL the other night. It started out when I decided, for no particular reason, to log in with my alt account. It had been months since I logged in as her and I thought it was about time I take her out again.

Whatever region I was in when I last logged out, no longer existed, so I was moved to a nearby region which turned out to be one of those new Chat Hotspots. I was there not even a few minutes when I struck up a conversation with a nearby avatar, who just happened to also be in my city, Toronto.

After chatting a little bit, I decided to log out and log back in as Carrie and take my new friend, PrettyBoyFloyd, to the SL version of Yonge/Dundas Square, since he had never been there. Yonge/Dundas Square is kind of like Canada’s version of Times Square in New York City, but on a way smaller scale. It’s basically the busiest intersection in dowtown Toronto, and has various events going on all throughout the year.





We explored a little, took a ride on the trolley, and then headed over to my favourite Toronto landmark, the CN Tower. It’s kind of neat and a little surreal to visit a place in SL that I pass by every day on my way to work.

Now that’s not such a big deal, I’ve met a few people in SL who live in Toronto. But what’s really cool is that I mentioned to PrettyBoy that in my neighbourhood, there is a small café that occasionally has SL events. The cool part…he has actually been to these events. 

It turns out that PrettyBoy’s friend, SL resident Genevieve Silvercloud, is a Toronto artist who sells her art at a small artsy coffee shop in my neighbourhood. She sometimes organizes mixed reality SL events there too. The last event that I know of, SL musician Maximillion Kleene performed as well…performing in RL at the cafe and streaming it live into SL.

We also went to take a look at Genevieve’s in-world art studio where she displays images of her RL art.  


I’m told that Genevieve sometimes streams live video into her SL studio of her working on her art in RL.  

After some searching, I found this video of Genevieve painting on stage in SL with Maximillion Kleene performing, and streaming live video of her RL self painting. 

This fascinates me…artists/performers bridging the gap between RL and SL, and all the different ways people use SL for creative expression.

This lead me to all kinds of thoughts…what defines art in SL? what about SL performers/musicians, and even bloggers/writers….is that creative expression considered art?

I don’t know the answers to those questions and maybe they are silly questions to ask. I’m a social worker for God’s sakes, I don’t know anything about art! But I can certainly appreciate the use of SL as a creative muse and artistic medium. This is a topic that I admit to knowing very little about, but my interest in it has been sparked. I will definitely be exploring this subject more and we’ll see what kind of opinions of my own I come up with.

Leave a Reply

