I always did like the colour purple



Tonight I spent some time doing Tai Chi and Meditation at Japan Tempura Island.  This is a place I go to when I want to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet, while I am reading in my web browser, plurking or blogging.  And yes, as laggy as the place is, I do manage to find some peace when I finally do make it through the lag to the tai chi pose balls.



I’ve been giving quite a bit of thought to the whole “Emerald Gate” debacle that occurred over this past weekend.  If you’re not familiar with everything that went down, I’ll leave the following links for you to read up on:


http://nwn.blogs.com/nwn/2010/08/emerald-denies-ddos-attack.html
http://nwn.blogs.com/nwn/2010/08/emerald-third-party-viewer-removed.html
http://nwn.blogs.com/nwn/2010/08/emerald-on-treet-tv.html
http://nwn.blogs.com/nwn/2010/08/qarl-on-emeraldgate.html
http://blog.modularsystems.sl/


I know, that’s a lot of stuff to read, but a lot of shit went down, and I’m too tired to accurately rehash the whole thing here. 


But, I do feel like expressing some of my thoughts, given the fact that I publicly declared my loyalty to the Emerald Viewer a few weeks ago in this blog post.  Upon hearing about the events that occurred over the weekend, I will say I am disappointed, confused and very mistrustful of Emerald and Modular Systems.   And I can’t help but feeling a slight sense of being “had” or “taken for a ride”.


For what it’s worth, I think Fractured Crystal did the right thing by resigning.  I’m not going to jump on the bandwagon of kicking someone while they are down.  I think losing his business, his reputation and the trust of the Emerald Viewer community is punishment enough.  It’s a sad situation, and I hope that he can learn some important life lessons from this.  That’s all I’m going to say about that.



I don’t know if I can say I will never use the Emerald viewer again.  It’s a great viewer with fantastic features.  Time will tell, I suppose. 


For the time being, I am using the Imprudence Viewer, and I am quite happy with it’s performance on my MacBook.  I’ve had a total of two crashes, since installing it a little over a week ago.  That’s pretty solid.  


/me knocks on wood


I miss my Emerald viewer…however, I’m not feeling great about using it at this point.  The thought of logging in with Emerald leaves me with an uneasy feeling in my gut.  The threat of a breach to my privacy and security of my computer looms too large right now to see past it.


But I’m liking Imprudence.  It’s a Linden Lab approved Third Party Viewer. I like the purple name tags.  I like that I’m having far less crashes than any other viewer I have previously used.  I like that there are weekly updates.  I like the Imprudence Manifesto.  I like that they use the word ‘manifesto’.  I like that there is no drama or scandolous rumours floating around. 


I can see myself being a loyal Imprudence user and supporter.  I always did like the colour purple. 


You can download the viewer here:  http://imprudenceviewer.org/wiki/Downloads

As for my friend Emerald, I’m not ready to turn my back on it yet.  I’ll be watching for news on the restructuring and waiting to see how it all unfolds before I make any final decisions.  

Leave a Reply

