Spoken Word Party for SL Bloggers!

The wheels are in motion and the Spoken Word Party for SL Bloggers is gaining momentum.

My partner in crime, er, I mean for this event (heehee) Chestnut Rau has put together a fantastic little invite which will be sent out to the SL Bloggers group in-world (thank you Tymm!).   If you are not in the group and would like an invite, send me an i.m and I’ll drop one in your inventory. 



I’m really looking forward to this event, but at the same time I am nervous as hell about it!  I have no idea which of my blog posts I want to read.  How many people are going to show up?  Is anyone even interested in an event like this?  Can I come up with something new and original to share for the event?  OMG What am I going to wear?!!!

Seems kind of crazy that I am feeling so nervous because this whole thing was my idea in the first place. 

But my reasons for wanting to put this together are purely selfish.  I’m an avid blog reader.  I love reading about all the diverse unique ways in which people see and experience SL and how that interacts with their lives outside the virtual world.  I am interested in people, and the only thing that I can think of that is better than reading a great piece of writing by my favourite bloggers, is hearing them recite their words themselves.  Hearing voices express the thoughts and emotions that inspired their words is a gift, and that is one gift that I can never get enough of.

Now I couldn’t possibly invite a bunch of bloggers to come read their work aloud and not read my writing too, so that’s why I’m doing this.

Nervous gulp.

But if I dig deeper, there’s more to it than just that…

I’ve read my poetry in SL once before, and as terrified as I was about it, the experience was totally worth it, and I will do it again.  Writing is one thing, but sharing it with others…well, it’s like it completes that creative process.  It’s like “here is my work, my time, my emotions, my passion”…it’s like giving away a little piece of me and then you are free to do whatever you want with it.  Sharing these little pieces of me with you makes me feel full. 

So there you have it.  I hope  to see you there.  This event is open for everyone, you don’t have to read aloud if you don’t want to.  Your presence will be greatly appreciated. 

Spoken Word Party for SL Bloggers

  • Date:  Thursday, September 23, 2010
  • Time:  6pm slt until…whenever!
  • Location:  Blue Angel Poet’s Dive, in Kolor
  • This is a voice enabled event – be sure to adjust your Preferences upon your arrival
Leave a Reply

