Bloggiversary

Today is my one year anniversary for this blog – it’s my bloggiversary 😉


It’s hard to believe that a year has gone my already, but here we are 48 blog posts, 72 comments later…that doesn’t seem like a lot when I look at my stats.  I feel like I have said so much more than that.  Mind you, I didn’t start blogging consistently until around February/March of this year.

I started this blog not really knowing what exactly I was doing.  I had been in SL for 9 months, not doing anything productive, just fooling around mostly, but I knew I wanted to do something creative.  Blogging appealed to me because of a long ago memory of a young woman who used to write…and then she stopped…

I stopped writing for a lot of reasons that started with a very unhealthy relationship (which I ended) and then university, travelling, career, settling down and starting a family – I was busy living life.  Becoming a mother changed my whole world and adding to that a full-time job outside my home…well, that just left me with very little time or head space to even think about writing.  I’m not complaining, just saying.

When I found SL, it stirred something deep within me and I really had no idea what that was. Blogging about my SL experience helped me figure that out.  Now here I am, a year later feeling a renewed passion for writing.  With encouragement from my good friend Ulrich (btw, if you appreciate poetry, go check out his new poetry blog, he’s a gifted poet), I am preparing one of my short stories for submission to a RL publication (I hate delineating between RL and SL but I still haven’t come up with a better way to express that).  Who knows if my story will get selected for publication, but that’s not my point.  My point is that I am writing again, and I am trying to get my stories out there. 

Not only has blogging renewed my writing muse, but it also opened the door to making new friends.  At a time when I was considering walking away from SL, I found comfort and friendship in the SL blogging community.  I’ve met a lot of beautiful and creative people, some of whom are now my friends. 

There are times when I feel like i have nothing to say, or I worry that I am going to run out of things to blog about.  But so far, just when I think I have nothing, something pops up that is worth blogging about.  I make no promises about the direction or content of this blog in the next year, but I do intend on keeping my mind and heart open for inspiration.

We’ll see it where it all leads me.  I hope you’ll stick around with me to find out :))



p.s:  I took this snapshot at Soror Nishi’s Tree of Trees.  Beautiful build.  I will be going back for more snapshots to blog.  
3 thoughts on “Bloggiversary

Leave a Reply

