31 of 365: Northern Lights

We don’t ever get to see the Aurora Borealis, or Northern Lights, where I live.  But just a few hours drive north, we can see them clear and bright on a winter’s night.  


Growing up we were always told that if you shuffled your feet on the ground when the Northern Lights were out, they would dance across the sky…and they really did.  I remember as a child thinking it was magic.  I don’t know the full scientific explanation for it except that it’s something to do with static electricity.


I’m looking forward to heading north next week to my parent’s home and watching the lights dance across the sky with my children.  


Just nine more sleeps to go.

Leave a Reply

