39 of 365: Finally crawled out of bed this afternoon

I missed the last two days of my 365 not because I am away from home and visiting family (which I am), but because I have been extremely ill since Christmas Eve.  I just finally crawled out of bed this afternoon after my dad went to town to get me some Sudafed because it turns out that I am allergic to cats.  My parents have seven cats.  SEVEN!


Don’t get me wrong, I love cats, but I have developed allergies in my late thirties and cats seem to be a huge trigger for sinus pain and headaches.  Honestly, I think I would be okay with one or two cats, which is the amount of cats my parents have always had and what I grew up with, but seven cats is too much for my senses I guess.


I managed to pull myself together for Christmas morning for the kids, but after breakfast I headed straight for my old bedroom where I have been sleeping since.  It seriously felt like my head was going to explode.  I woke up this afternoon to drool on my pillow, but with some of the pressure in my sinuses relieved. 


With the help of some medicine, a cool mist vaporizer and lots of hot showers, I’m feeling almost normal again and I can breath through my nose!  My ears are still a little plugged, but my headache is subsiding.


So that’s the tale of my Christmas 2010.  I didn’t take my kids out skating or watch for the Northern Lights, but I did catch up on several hours of sleep – enough to make up for months  of not enough sleep! 


I think one of my New Year’s resolutions is to take better care of my health.  I’ve been sick way too much in 2010.  


Anyway, I hope you all are having a nice holiday with your family and loved ones.  Peace and love… :))


Leave a Reply

