53 of 365: Gratitude

I’m a social worker.  My job is building relationships with people so they will trust me and I can help them improve their lives.  


Today, after working with one particular young woman for over two years, I closed her file.  She no longer needs me, which is a very good thing.  We went out for coffee and closure and she gave me the gift of a silver bracelet she made for me.  She thanked me for helping her and I bashfully said to her that I really just pointed her in the right directions and she was the one who did all the work.  She replied to me by saying “I know, but you did more than that…you believed in me even when I didn’t believe in myself, and that made all the difference”.


I’ve been thinking about her all evening since I got home.  I am grateful for knowing her because she has taught me about determination, perseverance and doing the right thing in the face of adversity. 


After two years of being in a helping relationship with this young woman, I wonder if all along she came into my life to help me, because her expression of gratitude and honesty to me today has lifted my spirit in a profound way that I haven’t experienced in…forever.   


I don’t know what else to say except…Thank you  Thank you  Thank you

2 thoughts on “53 of 365: Gratitude

Leave a Reply

