147 of 365: Go with the flow

I went to Crap’s 100 Word Stories last night, which is always a fun time with some good laughs.  


[insert cool storytelling picture here…if i would have remembered to take one]


It seems like all the events I want to go to take place at 5pm slt which is 8pm my time and exactly when I would normally put my kids to bed.  Problem is, the little buggers never want to go to sleep.  I hear them fooling around upstairs, tiptoeing around, and my son’s very loud whisper, “she’s going to hear us!”.  Why does it seem like the only time they get along with each other is when they are conspiring against me?  They think I can’t hear them sneaking around to turn on the PS3 and watch movies on Netflix.  So, last week I caught them red handed and took away all the cords and remote controls.  Problem solved.  


I decided to change their bedtime from 8pm to 9pm instead which seems to be working out better.  They can watch a cartoon on Netflix for an hour, and I can attend whatever event I want, then log out at bedtime, tuck them in, they are asleep within minutes, then do some quick chores and log back in to do my 365 picture.  One less hour of sleep doesn’t seem to be bothering the little bear cubs and everyone is happier is all around.  


If there is one thing I have learned about raising kids, it’s that with care and hard work, you will learn exactly how to handle the stage your child/children are at.  This generally will occur about 15 seconds before they move onto the next stage, and then you have to do it all over again.  That’s life with children.  


Better to be flexible and go with the flow, rather than resist the changes.  By the way, that’s good advice in all areas of life, not just parenting :))


2 thoughts on “147 of 365: Go with the flow

  1. Carrie Lexington

    thanks! it's about time i gave up the struggle of keeping them in their beds. i had enough of getting up every 5 or 10 minutes to shout up the stairs "GET BACK TO BED!"

    Reply

Leave a Reply

