172 of 365: Random stuff that inspires my creativity and some frustrations

Since my 365 Photography Project is all about flexing my creative muscles, I’ve been paying a lot more attention to random things in my Life that inspire me.  They could be simple things like how cute my son looks when he lays on the floor and watches cartoons, or how grown up my daughter tries to be in front of her friends by not holding my hand in public, but still calls me “mommy” at home, by little pieces of news items that provoke an emotional response in me like the death of someone I once misunderstood but later came to understand – i.e Jack Kevorkian death.  Once in a blue moon inspiration will strike me like it did when I wrote this poem.   

While I was driving my kids to daycare this morning, I heard a song on the radio that I haven’t heard in ages:  Beds are Burning by Midnight Oil.  I love that song and it always resonates so deeply with me because it touches on my passion for political issues for the Indigenous peoples of the world, and it is simply a really great tune and visually impressive music video. 

I have ideas for creative projects that draw on my interest in social justice and all things beautiful.  I want to bring them forth in SL, but my building skills are so lacking, and even more lacking is my patience to learn.  Yes, i’ve tried playing with prims and piecing them together to express an idea for a sculpture in my head, but it’s so frustrating because it doesn’t match to my vision.  The perfectionist in me just wants to give up at this point.

My output to express my ideas is not up to par with my creative input of inspiration. 

I’m trying too hard and you know old the saying, “the harder you try, the harder it comes”. 

Sigh. 

I’m not sure where to go from here, but in the meantime, I’ll just keep paying attention to and enjoying the random bits of inspiration I come across throughout my day and try not to get down on myself about this.   

Leave a Reply

