"Arctica Dreams" by Rebeca Bashly

I’m a fan of Rebeca Bashly.  Can you tell?  I’ve blogged her work twice in the last couple of weeks.  I don’t know her, I just really appreciate and enjoy her art.  It resonates with me.

Arctica Dreams spans the entire sim of MetaLES.  Upon arrival, it looks cold and empty, with the exception of one large tree, but take a short walk around and you will find a snowy mound to fall through which brings you down below to a dark and icy world of pure beauty.


Before you embark on your journey, click the sign for a notecard with a brief note and some tips to walk through the installation.

You know how much I like to play with windlight, so it was hard to not try out a few different settings, at least.  But cycling through windlight presets, I found that this build is best viewed at the artist’s recommendation of ‘midnight’.  That’s just like me though.  You can’t tell me anything, I always have to figure it out myself :p

Viewing these ice sculptures, I thought about how much artistic vision, creative effort and technical skill that went into creating an end product that looks so effortless and beautiful.  That kind of amazes me.

I don’t know a thing about art.  I am not an expert.  All I know for sure is how something makes me “feel”.  Whether it be writing, painting, music, sculptures, photos/images, or prims in a 3D virtual world, if it makes me “feel” something, anything…then that’s my definition of art.  For me, it’s pretty simple.

I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed this installation, so go see for yourself, and pay attention to how it makes you feel.  I spent a good part of my Saturday evening at Arctica Dreams, which turned out to be the perfect antidote to my hectic afternoon of last minute Christmas shopping.  


Enjoy :))

Leave a Reply

