A visit to Loin des equilibres, and then just like that, the Picnik is over

I haven’t been taking as much pictures in SL as I usually do.  That is mostly to do with my system issues and me despising the windlight set up in the official SL viewer (the only viewer I can use at the moment).  But his week I finally got around to exploring and taking some screenshots to share here…


I had a lovely time exploring Loin des equilibres, a minimalist, black and white sim, displaying the work of Cherry Manga (Mysterious Wave).  Taking pictures was not so bad and I started to feel that ‘zone’ I get into when looking fo photo opportunities. 

My usual routine is to get my screenshots then park my av somewhere in the sim and post process my photos at Picnik.  So, I was pretty surprised when I went over to to edit my images and found out that it is closing and the last day was April 19th.  That totally bummed me out.  

When you go to Picnik you get a message saying that “Picnik is moving its easy yet powerful photo editing tools to Google+”. Okay, fine, so it’s not completely disappearing. But, what if I don’t want to use Google+?  I joined it awhile ago and I was pretty creeped out by how much information they had collected about me and the friend suggestions, and family members…I mean how the hell does Google know who I know and further, who I may be related to? I think I kept it for a couple of days before deactivating it. I haven’t gone back to check, but I’m sure it still has my info there since ‘deactivating’ has quite a different meaning from ‘deleting’ something.  Not to mention the notices I periodically get asking me for my cell number to secure my account.  Not falling for that one.


I really had no idea that Picnik was owned by Google, and as it seems will soon own the rest of the free world (am I allowed to say that here?). 

Yes, I am aware of the irony in complaining about this when this blog has been hosted here at Blogger for over two years, owned by Google. I have two gmail accounts as well. I thought about moving this blog and emails to another platform, but honestly, I like Blogger and Gmail and I’m happy with my blog set up. I don’t feel like starting all over again some place else. But now the thought is there in my head again…

Anyways, this is kind of annoying because I am a paying customer at Picnik and I have loved the service from the beginning. It really is “Fast, Easy, and Fun”. Remember that?  It’s good that we are getting refunds and advanced notice, but still…

I haven’t used PhotoShop in ages because I do minimal post processing to my shots anyways, and everything I need is available at Picnik. And if you do more than minimal photo edits, you can do a lot more with the tools also. Closing down such a popular service that a lot of people pay for just seems like a stupid business move to me and an underhanded way of forcing users to move over to Google+.


But, whatever. I’m miffed about this but it’s not like Picnik is the only online photo editing tool out there. It’s a minor inconvenience, but for me, the decision is pretty easy – I’ll just take my business elsewhere…and maybe my blog too. 

Leave a Reply

