"And the wild things roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth and rolled their terrible eyes…"

Where the Wild Things Are was, and still is, my most favourite story book of all time.  Like countless others, the Wild Things was a part of my childhood bedtime routine as much as brushing my teeth before sleep.  My mother still has my original hardcover book from the 1970’s and my own children have grown up with the imaginative Max and the Wild Things too.


I was a little bummed out when I learned that Maurice Sendak passed away today at the age of 83.  I have such fond memories of his Wild Things and rebellious little Max.  I can relate 😉


When I got home from work today, I did a quick search and found that there is a Wild Things Tribute Island in Second Life.  Hell yeah!  I took some pics for all you explorers and Maurice Sendak fans out there.


When you arrive you can read the story from the book on the ground before heading in through the door to begin your adventure.  It’s important to go in one at a time.

From there you will be taken into Max’s bedroom.  Pay attention to the story and instructions in local chat.

 You will be directed to sit on the bed, and then you can watch a forest grow all around.

 …leading you through Max’s adventure to where the wild things are…

 …upon far away shores for a wild rumpus…


If you are a fan of Maurice Sendak’s, Where the Wild Things Are, you will enjoy this fun little tribute in Second Life.  I loved it and it brought back many fond memories of what it is like to be a child with an imagination too big to be contained.


Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

