Japan Chuba – Samurais, Geishas and Ninjas, oh my!

I visited Japan Chuba this morning which is another fabulous roleplay sim in Second Life.  The sim is open to visitors, however they ask that you respect any roleplay activity that may be taking place when you visit.  This is just common sense. You are also encouraged to dress in traditional Edo period clothing if you wish and you may purchase outfits in the marketplace on the sim. 
The sim is rated Moderate.

Upon landing in the sim, you will find that you have been transported into a lush Japanese Edo Period era.  The details in the landscape and the scenery are impressive.  The music stream also contributes greatly to the atmosphere as you explore the area.  

From the notecard, I learned that there are a cluster of four sims in this region, two of them being specifically for roleplay.  Those two sims would be Japan Chuba and Japan Kansai.  Today’s screenshots are of Japan Chuba.  

I took my screenshots using the Exodus Viewer, with Deferred Rendering and Tone Mapping checked on.  I’m still getting to know the photography features in the viewer, so some of these shots turned out a little darker than I would like.  


I used the recommended region windlight settings.  

I have to say, I was a little confused when I first arrived.  The landmark from the Destination Guide landed me in the middle of a rice field which didn’t have any information available about the sim or the roleplay.  I did eventually find the info boards and notecards in my travels.  There, you can get the notecards and application for the roleplay game.  

There weren’t very many avatars around when I visited this morning, just random explorers here and there, like me.  I don’t know much about the Japanese Edo period, so this peaked my interest and I will be doing a bit of research to find out more.  

From the About Land info:

“Matsumoto Castle also known as the Crow Castle is one of Japan’s premier historic Japanese castles. Located in the city of Matsumoto, in Nagano Prefecture. Home of the Keibatsu Samurai Clan. Geisha, Ninja, CSI, Role Play. Hosoi Ichiba Cluster”


I don’t know if I will ever make it to Japan in my lifetime to visit this castle, but at the very least, I have learned something new about the historic site and most interesting period in world history.  


Japan Chuba is a cool place to explore and there are a lot of opportunities for landscape shots.  

One thought on “Japan Chuba – Samurais, Geishas and Ninjas, oh my!

Leave a Reply

