Harry Potter Roleplay by Mischief Managed

I know it’s all over the SL feeds this week so you are probably already well aware of the new Harry Potter roleplay sim by Mischief Managed.  There’s a reason why it’s so popular right now – it’s all mesh and it is really quite remarkable.  Currently there is no role play taking place and is open for visitors until July 13th.  You should get over there asap to check it out.  

The sim is rated as Moderate.

I have to say, that I have not viewed one Harry Potter film.  I know eh? Shame!  (Yes I just said ‘eh’. I have fulfilled my expectations as your typical Canadian).  When I arrived at the landing spot, I didn’t know you had to walk through the brick wall to get to platform 9 3/4.  Duh!  Luckily, there was a very helpful RP enthusiast that helped me out and I found my way to the Hogwart’s Express.   

You will find the TP door to the castle on one of the train’s sidedoors.  Don’t be like me and grab a seat and think “this is a freakin’ long ass train ride!”.  It’s not.  Walk around the car and look for the doors to tp out of there.

This is a huge build, both in scale and the amount of things to rez.  I had to relog and clear cache, but once I did that everything rezzed pretty fast.  

I think this is one of those builds that could benefit from a map at the landing point.  I felt quite overwhelmed by the size of the place and got lost a few times.  A map could really help in finding your way around.   I understand that the interior of the castle is not complete, so perhaps a map or other things are already in the works. 

Like I said, the scale of the castle is ginormous.  When I visit places like this, I find it easier to fly and zoom around with my camera and turn up draw distance to get a feel for the place.  From there I can spot interesting looking spots to walk around and take some pictures. 

The castle is trés cool and is a must see for all you virtual world explorers out there.  


For further information and rules on role play, check out the Mischief Managed website.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Roleplay by Mischief Managed

  1. Geoff Williams

    One of the things I feel should be mentioned is the rp itself, the rules are extremely strict to the point where it's hard to enjoy rp in itself. Though I do agree that if you want to go to sightsee, feel free. Though as an rper, I definitely miss the old owners when it comes to plots, rules, and friendliness.

    Reply
    1. Brenna Orellana

      Hi Geoff! I know it’s been a couple of years since this comment, but I just wanted to let you know that Mischief Managed has changed a lot from those first couple of months! Certain rules that were in place at first are now long gone, and sim management has changed hands. The roleplay is much freer and open to all roleplay styles, so I hope you’ll consider stopping by again sometime!

      Reply
  2. Carrie Lexington

    Hi Geoff. Thank you for your comment. I'm not a roleplayer so I don't really know how it all works. When I visited the sim it was open for "tourists". I have visited some roleplay areas that certainly have a ton of rules just for visitors, so I can imagine how it must be for the rp'ers.It's too bad to hear that there are so much rules that have put a damper on the fun for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

