It’s all about Love (and RL camera envy) in the Noweeta Grasslands…

Yes, it’s all about Love in these peaceful grasslands…

But Noweeta is not just for couples and romance. I met a couple of people like myself who were there to explore, enjoy some solitude and take pictures of the beautiful landscape. It’s a SL photographer’s dream.

So this morning while I was zooming around the sim, framing my shots, I realized that I rarely, if ever use the ctrl 8 camera feature for my SL photos. I often use ctrl 0 to zoom in on objects, and the rare close up pics I have of my avatar face. But ctrl 8 for zooming out, is not a function I have ever made much use of. I figured it was a good time to give it a try. As you can see from the two photos above, this function gives your SL camera somewhat of a fisheye effect and changes the entire look and feel of the scene. I plan on experimenting more with this “fisheye lens” for future shots.

I’m kind of addicted to Depth of Field shots. Honestly, I don’t know what the hell I am doing with the DoF sliders in the Dolphin Viewer. I couldn’t tell you what F Numbers, Focal Length, or Circle of Confusion means. I just slide them all around until my screen looks good to my eye,  and then I snap a picture. Maybe I’m doing it all wrong, but it works for me. 

As much as I love taking photos in my Second Life, it gives me a bit of RL camera envy. I would love to have a “real camera” besides my iphone to snap pictures around the city on my daily walks and weekend bike rides. I’m not kidding myself. I realize that landscape photography in the atomic world is FAR different from what I do in SL. But I would love, LOVE to spend more time out in nature, hiking through trails, exploring landscapes and waiting all day for the right light for that one perfect shot. This may seem crazy, but the thought of this makes me dreamy. 

The trouble with this day dream is not that I don’t have the camera and equipment. I can get those things. The trouble is finding the time for it. Between my 9 to 5 job, managing my husbands business, two children, shopping, appointments and shuttling them to lessons, playdates and all that, I am left with very little time to spend an entire day in the country taking pictures. Maybe one day I can make this happen, just not right now.


But hey, that’s life right? I’m not complaining. I enjoy my life the way it is and I get to do all kinds of fun things with my kids. But it’s good to dream and to want certain things so you can work towards it and have something to look forward to.

Until then, I’ll enjoy the opportunity I have to live out my day dreams in the virtual world. 


Leave a Reply

