“Alts are creepy and suspicious” is a cruel Second Life stereotype

In Second Life, it is not uncommon for users to create alts. Alts are created for many reasons. Perhaps they’re main avatar is far too popular with the Second Life elite and their owner needs a loner alt to log in for some peace and quiet. Some people create alts for role-playing, others create alts strictly for store models, or mannequins to be part of an art exhibit, or something arty like that.

There are other more shady reasons for creating alts like for griefing, spying, or worse, for cheating on your SL lover for whom just the other week you publicly proclaimed in your profile was the love of your SLife.

And then of course there are those grumpy and jaded old avatars who create alts because they are trying to get back the glory days of being a young and adventurous avatar in Second Life. Newsflash: this never works. Trust me, I tried it. A few times. Still grumpy, disdainful and growing ever more cynical with each rez day that passes…

Grumpy, disdainful avatar

Grumpy, disdainful avatar

But I’m not here to tell you that I have an alt and a new Second Life identity. I’m still Carrie. I have been looking for a way to breath some fresh air into my SLife and starting a new avatar may work for some, but for me I suppose my equivalent to that is starting a new blog, or rather a continuation of my old blog.

I know, I know. All five of you who have been following SLifeFantastic! over the years are probably all like “What the fuck?! Not again?!”.   (I’ve announced a few different url’s for my RL blog over there). I don’t blame you. But rest assured, I am not ending my blog, I’m simply renaming it, importing all my old posts from Blogger and continuing on with blogging about my oh so fantastic SLife (sarcasm intended) here on WordPress.

Blogger has it’s good points, however the problems I have had over the years with html and some other small but annoying things have gotten to me. I like WordPress so much better.

Anyway, long story short, please update your blog readers and blogrolls with this new url:

https://truediaryofasecondlifenobody.wordpress.com/

I’m excited about my new “alt blog” and I hope you are too. I feel likes it’s breathing fresh air into my SLife already!

Don’t worry, I’m not creepy and there’s no need to be suspicious. This “alt” is not here to hide, grief, spy or cheat on you in any way at all. Rest assured, I will continue to be the same old Second Life Nobody I have always been.

Yours truly,

Carrie Lexington

7 thoughts on ““Alts are creepy and suspicious” is a cruel Second Life stereotype

  1. Mistletoe

    I’m nobody! Who are you?
    Are you nobody, too?
    Then there’s a pair of us–don’t tell!
    They’d banish us, you know.

    How dreary to be somebody!
    How public, like a frog
    To tell your name the livelong day
    To an admiring bog!

    –Emily Dickinson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

