Memories of being a noob

A few days ago I was contacted by an old friend, who actually was my very first friend in SL. It kind of blows my mind that it was four years ago that we first met. I never, ever thought in a million years that I would be around this crazy virtual world that long.

I remember very clearly that first day I created my account and logged in. It took me forever to come up with an avatar name and even longer to choose my last name. I ended up with such a plain and normal sounding name because I’m a dud and I couldn’t even think of a cool first name to use. So I ended up being Carrie because I was frustrated with my lack of creative avatar name ideas and when I happened to look up from my laptop, Sex and the City was on my tv screen, so Carrie I became. That’s so dumb because if there was any character on that show that I could relate to, it would be Miranda.

Oh well, I might have a boring avatar name but my real name is kind of unusual so I guess that makes up for that.

I have no idea what the point of this post is…

Oh right, I was taking a trip down memory lane about my old SL friend. If it wasn’t for her reaching out to me way back then to offer a noob some help, I am certain that I would have quit SL right then and there.

Now here we are, years later, reminiscing about the days when we used to go freebie shopping for blingey things at Spidey’s and it took me several frustrating hours and a very patient new friend to figure out how to NOT wear a box on my head.

Oh to be a fresh, young avatar again. Damn I miss those days. If I had the chance to do it all over again I would do it in a heartbeat and I wouldn’t change a thing about it.…

On second thought, I would still do it all over again, but I could do without the freebie bling and boxes on my head part. 🙂

Noob, freebie fashion circa March 2009.

Noob, freebie fashion circa March 2009.

One thought on “Memories of being a noob

  1. DJ Frenzy

    If you want to try for a job, the club where I work is seeking DJ,s and dancers. Search my blog for map link to the club and there is an application right under the DJ Booth!.. Frenzy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

