Why I blog meme

Magnificat, Fantasy Faire 2013, Second Life

Magnificat, Fantasy Faire 2013, Second Life

The photo above has nothing to do with this post. I decided to do Berry’s latest blog meme, and I think every post needs a pic so there you go. On to the meme:

  • How long have you been blogging? I have been blogging about Second Life since 2009, although not at this particular url. This year, I imported all my posts from SLifeFantastic! to WordPress. I wanted a little bit of a fresh start and a new name for my blog.
  • Why did you start blogging? I started blogging because really, I have no other skills to do anything else constructive in SL. Seriously! I was reading a lot of other SL blogs back then and I figured “hey, I can write and I enjoy it” so maintaining a blog seemed much more attainable to me than learning to build intricate things.
  • How many times a week do you post an entry? I haven’t been posting very much lately. I did a 365 project before which was challenging and interesting but I don’t think I would do one again. At this moment, I just blog whenever the inspiration comes.
  • How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis? I follow hundreds of blogs, RL and SL. I say follow because I don’t always read them all, but they are all there in my blog reader. I peruse all the new updates daily and read the ones that stand out to me. I have a few favourite SL blogs that I read regularly and I get totally excited when I see a new post from those bloggers in my reader (come on! you know who you are!) Yes, I’m a blogging nerd with stalkerish tendencies.
  • Do you comment on other people’s blogs? Yes, sometimes but not as much as I would like to. Part of the reason for this is because I often read blogs while I’m on the go, sitting on public transit or at a coffee shop and reading them on my iphone. I don’t like typing longer things from my phone so I always think that I will go back to the site and comment from home but I always forget. Oh well.
  • Do you keep track of how many visitors you have? I don’t keep track of visitors. Once in awhile I will look at my stats and check referrals and search terms, but that’s hardly ever.
  • Did you ever regret a post that you wrote? Yes. I didn’t delete it, it’s still there. I figured that I’m a human being and I’m allowed to make mistakes and I’m not embarrassed by it.
  • Do you think your readers have a true sense of who you are based on your blog? I’m pretty open about myself and my life here, however, I think my blog is only one small window into who I am. I’m genuine about what I choose to share about myself in this blog and other social media, so even though it is just a little peak into who I am, it is real and it is me.
  • Do you blog under your real name? No, not on this blog. I have another non-SL blog. I don’t use my real name there but my real name is linked to that blog. Feel free to check it out. Right now, I update that blog more often. Here’s the link: http://callmeshebear.wordpress.com/
  • Are there topics that you would never blog about? I don’t know. I generally just blog stuff that I like or inspires me or when I have an opinion about something.
  • What is the theme/topic of your blog? I’ve always considered myself a personal blogger with a SL-centric blog. I also enjoy exploring and taking pictures of places to visit in SL.
  • Do you have more than one blog? If so, why? Yes. I have the non-SL blog I linked to above. I started it because I found that I enjoyed blogging so much that I wanted to write and share more about non-SL stuff. I thought another blog would be a better place for that.
  • What have you found to be the benefits of blogging? I think blogging has helped me boost my confidence in writing and now I actually feel comfortable calling myself a writer. Blogging has given me a “project” and hobby to keep myself busy and opened my world up to learning other creative things like photography. I have also become friends with some really amazing individuals who I probably never would have known if it wasn’t for blogging.
  • So, why do you continue to blog? I just like to write, create and share, so that’s why I continue to blog. It’s pretty simple. I hope to continue blogging here for as long as I am still drawn to SL, even if my posts are few and far between.
Leave a Reply

