What I really wanted to say was…

Titans Hollow, Fantasy Faire 2013, Second Life

Titans Hollow, Fantasy Faire 2013, Second Life

When you’re a writer with a personal blog, sometimes you run into situations that you have words to share about, but you also have the privacy of others to respect. This can put a writer into a tough spot. How do I stay true to what I have to say and yet still protect the privacy and identities of those I care about it? This is particularly true about Second Life where everyone has vast and different levels of comfort in sharing details of their lives behind the computer screens.

Sometimes I sit down to write about a specific subject and in the process of putting words to my thoughts and feelings, I end up somewhere completely different from what I expected. Such was the case with my last blog post. I thought I was going to write in more detail about a personal experience and ended up sharing more broad thoughts on trust and online friendships. It’s all still true, but not exactly what I wanted to really say.

What I really wanted to share was that I was feeling really happy and humbled when a long time SL friend who is very private and cautious, opened up and invited me into their world outside of our virtual existence. I have contacts outside of SL with a handful of people who know my RL identity, but for this particular friendship, this was a pretty big deal.

It seems like such a small and insignificant thing, but this little gesture felt like a huge gift, and four days later I am still beaming about it.

3 thoughts on “What I really wanted to say was…

Leave a Reply

